How we are governed

Acas is a non-departmental public body of the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS). Most of our funding is provided by BEIS.

We're governed by an independent council. This means that we can provide an impartial service.

Clare Chapman
Clare Chapman, Acas Chair
Susan Clews
Susan Clews, Acas Chief Executive

The Acas Council

The Acas Council governs our strategic direction, policies and priorities. It makes sure that we work effectively to meet our objectives and targets.

Council members are subject matter experts (employer, trade union and independent members), appointed by the Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy.

The Chair of the Acas Council is Clare Chapman, former Director General of the NHS workforce.

Our council members are:

  • Neil Carberry, Chief Executive of the REC (Recruitment and Employment Confederation)
  • Mike Clancy, General Secretary and Chief Executive of Prospect
  • Jayne Haines, Senior Vice President of Talent, Learning and Organisation Development at GlaxoSmithKline
  • Simon Lewis, Barrister at Exchange Chambers
  • Christina McAnea, General Secretary of UNISON
  • Ijeoma Omambala QC, Barrister at Old Square Chambers
  • Matthew Percival, People and Skills Policy Director of the CBI (Confederation of British Industry)
  • Roy Rickhuss, General Secretary of Community
  • Ben Summerskill, Director of the Criminal Justice Alliance

Council sub-committees

The Acas Council is supported by 2 sub-committees:

  • the Audit and Risk and Assurance Committee
  • the Remuneration Committee

The Audit and Risk and Assurance Committee

The Audit and Risk and Assurance Committee regularly monitors risk management in Acas.

The Chair of the committee is Ben Summerskill, Acas Council member.

Committee members are:

  • Ann Beasley, Independent Financial Expert
  • Susan Clews, Acas Chief Executive, Accounting Officer
  • Jayne Haines, Acas Council member
  • Rob Mackintosh, Director of Finance, Estates and Procurement, Acas
  • Roy Rickhuss, Acas Council member
  • Assistant Director of Finance, Acas
  • BEIS Labour Markets representative
  • Government Internal Audit Agency representative

The Remuneration Committee

The Remuneration Committee reviews the performance of senior civil servants and is responsible for their pay and rewards, including any awards and bonuses.

The Chair of the committee is Clare Chapman, Acas Council Chair.

Committee members are:

  • Neil Carberry, Acas Council member
  • Mike Clancy, Acas Council member
  • Ijeoma Omambala QC, Acas Council member
  • Head of Pay, Rewards and Workforce Planning, Acas

Terms of reference

The terms of reference for the Acas Council and its 2 sub-committees are published in our annual report and accounts 2020 to 2021 on GOV.UK.

To request a copy of the full terms of reference, email

Executive Board

The Executive Board works with the Acas Council to make sure we meet our targets. The board is responsible for:

  • reviewing our performance and delivery
  • making sure that we're managed effectively
  • setting our strategy

Our Executive Board members are:

  • Susan Clews, Chief Executive Officer, Accounting Officer
  • Tony Cooper, Chief Operations Officer
  • Dan Ellis, People Director
  • Rob Mackintosh, Director of Finance, Estates and Procurement
  • Kate Nowicki, Director of Strategic Planning, Performance and Change
  • James Vincent, Director of Digital, Data and Technology

We also have 3 sub-boards that report to the Executive Board. These are:

  • Customer Service Board – responsible for delivering services, chaired by Kate Nowicki
  • Planning, Performance and Change Board – responsible for delivering change projects, chaired by Kate Nowicki
  • Technical Design and Delivery Board – responsible for delivering technical solutions, chaired by James Vincent

If you have any questions about the Acas Council or Executive Board, email

Council meeting minutes

To request a copy of summary minutes of Acas Council meetings, email